photo by Shaun Holloway

A big thanks to Sonya for holding this challenge every week! Head to her page to participate and read!

Here’s mine for the week!

She watched his face screw up at the very mention of pumpkins and held in a laugh. “Can we not have pumpkin for dinner?”, her adorable 6 year old whined. She pinched his cheeks and smiled as he ran out to play with his friends before dinner. 

All throughout dinner, his nose was scrunched up, searching for the dreaded pumpkin in every dish. Only after dinner did his face return to normal. “What’s for dessert?”, he asked, bouncing happily, the pumpkin scare having been dealt with.

She watched amusedly as he devoured four tarts and held in another laugh, stealing a glance at the open page of the recipe book which innocently displayed the title- Spiced Pumpkin Mini Tarts.

©Sonali Mukherjee


So, I actually don’t like pumpkins at all, yes I scrunch up my face at them every time. But I really wanted to taste spiced pumpkin once because it was mentioned in every Harry Potter book. 

So I found the recipe for Spiced Pumpkin Mini Tarts last Halloween and found that I quite liked the taste. 

