Three Line Tales Week 83 – The Other Shoe Drops

This entry is part of Sonya’s Three Line Tales challenge. As usual, click here to read the other entries.

Photo by Keller Chewning

Here’s my take for the week –

The lights blinked at her from the bedside, flashing warnings that were quickly cast aside when she felt the bed behind her dip and let a content smile slip through as the arms around her squeezed tight, a familiar laugh tinging the air with something sweet, something timeless.

Something that drowned out the numerous monitor beeps that surrounded her actual body, battered in the accident. Something that forcibly blocked the loud flatline on the bed next to hers

She settled comfortably in the warm cocoon, breath against her neck. If this was the only tether she had, she dare not leave the dream.

©Sonali Mukherjee


I struggled to put my thoughts into words this time around, the prompt speaks so much for itself. From the get-go, I didn’t think anything I wrote would be bright, the dark colours, ominous lighting and sombre reminder was a siren song for one of my darker sides of writing.

That said, I hope I was able to convey the sharp pain of the plot this time around as I condensed it into the customary three lines.

For someone that loves writing long wordy sentences in flowery language, the three line tales is truly a challenge to get across a point in the shortest form possible

Tell me what you think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑